Ringing the Bell at NY Stock Exchange


Ross P. Barrett of BVM Capital, LLC and Members of the Louisiana Committee of 100 ringing the closing bell of the NYSE on November 18, 2010.

From left to right include David Smallman (LED Consultant), Robert Shreve (Gulf South Business Systems), John Blackman (Jones Walker), Michael Olivier (C100), Mary Leach Werner (Chalkley Companies), Randy Ewing (Randy Ewing, LLC), Ross Barrett (BVM Capital), Scott Cutler (NYSE), Bill Hines (Jones Walker), Tom Clark (Adams & Reese) and David Sickey (Coushatta Tribe of Louisiana).

The Committee of 100 for Economic Development, Inc. held its annual meeting in New York City and included visits to investment firms, the NYMEX, the Federal Reserve Bank, site selection consultants and international commercial offices. The ringing of the NYSE closing bell was a feature of the visit culminating three days of meetings with more than 40 contacts and opinion leaders in NYC. Bloomberg News and the United Kingdom Consul General and Trade and Investment Office hosted receptions for over 300 opinion leaders, multipliers and business contacts in the NYC area. Joining C100 members were Economic Development professionals from the regions of the state, the Economic Development departments of Entergy and CLECO and staff members of Louisiana Economic Development Department. Elected officials included Lt. Governor Jay Dardenne, Mayors Mitch Landrieu of New Orleans, Randy Roach of Lake Charles, Joey Durel of Lafayette and Cedric Glover of Shreveport.

Bill Hines of New Orleans, Managing Partner of Jones Walker law firm was elected Chairman and Randy Ewing of Quitman, President of Randy Ewing, LLC, became the Immediate Past Chair. Mike Madison, Pineville, CEO of CLECO was elected Vice-Chair and Tom Clark, Partner in Charge of Adams & Reese law firm’s Baton Rouge office was appointed Secretary/Treasurer. Also elected to the Executive Committee was James E. Davison, Davison Transportation Services; C. Kris Kirkpatrick, Long Law Firm; Martin Mayer, Stirling Properties; Sonia Perez, AT&T; Dr. Patrick Quinlan, Ochsner; Dr. Phillip Rozeman, Cardiovascular Consultants; Gray Stream, Stream Companies; Robert Stuart, Capital One Bank; and Richard Zuschlag, Acadian Ambulance Service.

The Committee of 100 is a private, nonprofit organization whose membership includes the CEOs of leading private and public companies in Louisiana and University presidents of Louisiana’s institutions of higher learning. It was created in 1992 to provide leadership and resources to bring about positive change in government, education and the economy to improve the quality of life for all the people of Louisiana. The Committee’s primary focus is to assist the State to attract and retain industry, ensuring quality jobs for Louisianans.

Following his election as Chairman, Bill Hines stated, “The membership of the Committee of 100 and its Executive Committee reflects the geographic diversity and business diversity of the State of Louisiana. The Committee and its leadership look forward to working aggressively to further develop and expand the Louisiana economy in the coming years.”